Sauðaneshús in Langanes is the oldest stone house in Þingeyjar Counties and it is practically unique in a national sense as masonry houses of this type are extremely rare in Iceland. The house was built in 1879 from gray basalt and was used as a vicarage. It was renovated 1991-2003 as it had become dilapidated. Today Sauðaneshús houses the exhibition “Að sækja björg í björg” that showcases how life was in Langanes when Sauðaneshús was inhabited in last the century and how the vicarage was essentially the center of the community in the area.


Langanes in northern Þingeyjar County is rich in natural resources such as driftwood and a diverse birdlife. The exhibition shows how people utilized the resources from their nearby surroundings in order to survive. Nature is an intrinsic part of life in Langanes and it is therefore kept in the forefront of the exhibition, with an emphasis on the birdlife in the area.

Sauðaneshús belongs to the National Museum’s Historic Building Collection, but is run by the District Cultural Center and is open for visitors during the summer.

Photos: Sauðaneshús