Grenjaðarstaður in Aðaldalur is one of the largest turf houses in Iceland, situated 30 km south of Husavik. Its oldest part was built in 1865 and the house was inhabited until 1949. Grenjaðarstaður has been a folk museum since 1958 where around 2000 objects that relate to the old farming society are exhibited.

The house is mostly built from lava rocks, of which the nearby area has a plenty, and panelled with driftwood on the inside.


In its heyday Grenjaðarstaður was a prosperous vicarage. Visitors will gain an understanding of how arduous it was to survive in those days. Among homemade ice skates and the traditional handcarved bowls called askur, hand painted wallpaper and gilded cornices can also be seen. The house has both a traditional hearth kitchen made from rocks and a wood-paneled kitchen that houses a Danish coal stove.

There is also a church at Grenjaðarstaður, built in 1865 and is still in use. In the cemetery, visitors can see a rune stone that dates back to the Middle Ages. The old barn has been renovated which today houses the reception, restrooms and dining facilities.

The turf house at Grenjaðarstaður belongs to the National Museum’s Historic Building Collection but it is run by the District Cultural Center and is open for visitors during summer 1 June - 15 August.

 Photos: Grenjaðarstaður